Bruce Pearson presents a workshop to pre-service and in-service teachers. (3/22/06)

Composer Doug Akey conducts CMENC students at the AMEA conference, January 2005.

Dr. David Circle, president of the National Association for Music Education, speaks to the state's collegiate members at the AMEA conference, January 2005.

Dr. Kenneth Phillips--author of-- Teaching Kids to Sing--gives a Saturday morning workshop to Arizona in-service teachers.

Michael Burns, Steven Brazier, Julia Georges, and Patrick Anderson for receiving Professional Achievement Awards from the National Association for Music Education!

I am the past national Chair of CMENC, collegiate music educators, a sub-group of the National Association for Music Education. This sixty-year-old international organization is for college students who are studying to become music teachers: general music, choral, instrumental–band or orchestra. Currently there are approximately 15,412 undergraduate music education student members from 664 campus chapters in the U.S. and abroad. I also am the past state CMENC chapter advisor for Arizona, where I served all undergraduate music education students in Arizona universities. I serve as the ASU CMENC chapter advisor and have done so since 2000.

The ASU CMENC chapter prides itself on providing learning opportunities to Arizona music teachers and collegiate members by hosting in-service and preservice teacher workshops at ASU. The photograph on the bottom left is Dr. Kenneth Phillips, author of Teaching Kids to Sing, giving a Saturday workshop to teachers and collegiate members from around the state. The ASU CMENC chapter fundraises to sponsor these workshops for Arizona teachers. Other workshops presented have included Dr. Tim Lautzenheiser, Dr. James Froseth, Dr. Quincy Hilliard, John O’Reilly, Sam Pilafian, Doris Gazda, Dr. Michael Allen, Bruce Pearson, and Anne McGinty.

In January 2006, four ASU collegiate music educators were recognized by the National Association for Music Eduction for their service to Arizona music educators. Each received a Professional Achievement Award. In addition, each of these students wrote and received travel grants from the Herberger College of Fine Arts to attend the conference and accept their awards. One of these students, Jenni Ensign, was the first Caitlin Merie Hurrey Memorial Scholarship recipient from the National Association for Music Education, chosen from the pool of collegiate members throughout the U.S. Attending this professional conference was an outstanding learning experience for them and they represented ASU well on a national level.

Also, a congratulations to the ASU CMENC chapter for receiving a Chapter Excellence Award from the National Association for Music Education. The chapter’s outstanding service to in-service and preservice teachers merited this recognition. The four ASU officers accepted the award in Salt Lake City, April 2006.

For more information on this national organization visit

My additional service includes being a member of the editorial board for the web publication RIME (Research and Issues in Music Education).